New Things

Ghana has been full of new things. New people, new food, new sights, new language. Through all of the newness, it is hard to not desire the comfort and stability of sameness found in the things we are familiar with. As I have spent time (over a week already!!) in this beautiful place, however, God has shown me that He works through new things. The hospital and clinic here have devotions every morning. Their theme for the month of June is all about God doing a new thing. 

“Forget the former things do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” -Isaiah 43:18-19

You see, we cannot experience the new without letting go of the ways of before. If I came here expecting to get a warm shower and Iowa sweet corn on the cob, I would be hitting pretty far from the mark. In order for me to allow God to make me a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland, I need to let go of my comfort of familiarity for the things I left at home. 

God cannot reveal new things to me until I have let go of what has passed. If I walk forward only expecting what I already know, then how can I continue to live each day under God’s grace, which allows me to experience Him in new ways each and every day? 

I hope you all search for the newness that God brings to your heart each morning you wake up. Thank Him for the unexpected, and for His unending grace. 

Sarah 

Working with Henry to check in patients.
Peace and I after a sweaty game of soccer!

Leave a Reply

