Hope

This morning we attended an Assemblies of God church in Kasei. Though it was small (we worshipped in a classroom at the local school), the voices were loud and the Spirit was present. It has been quite the experience to be part of such charismatic traditions as the ones found in Africa. This has been challenging in some ways, but God has asked me to step out of my comfort zone, and it has been eye-opening…most definitely a new thing for me! Today was the first church experience we had that was in English. The pastor saw us there and spoke on our behalf. His message was quite timely for me, especially as I have had perseverance on my mind. 

He asked us where we turn when we face hardship. For some people, they seek advice from family or friends. Others find consolation in reading books of inspiration, or pursuing a hobby they enjoy. Whatever that thing is, it will never compare to God’s consolation during these times. When hardships come, and we are asked to persevere, I am one who is guilty of not seeing God’s attention. I do everything in my power to overcome things on my own. But God knows we can’t handle the weight this world puts on us without His support. 

“But as for me, I watch him hope for the Lord. I wait for God my Savior, my God will hear me.” -Micah 7:7

This scripture reminds us to be hopeful in the Lord. Even when we are tired of waiting for an answer, we should be patient in hope as God works. He hears us even if we don’t see an outcome right away. Today I was reminded of a few things I have prayed about in the past that have came to pass by God’s will. As I continue to think, the more instances come to mind. Big or small, God hears all of your requests. Prayer is SO powerful and it works!! 

Even when it’s hard to remind yourself that God is still listening, be comforted knowing that “He will not let your foot slip-he who watches over you will not slumber; indeed he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep” (Psalm 121:3-4). God takes care of his people. He won’t give you anything that is beyond you. When things seem to be overwhelming and you can’t make sense of it, remind yourself that God does not sleep!! He hears you and is working for your good. He is willing to give, if only we ask (John 14:14). 

So let this be a reminder to seek after God when we feel we have nowhere else to go. As I am here in Africa, away from my comfort, I have been forced to realize He is all I have, but He is all I need!! 🙂 Let it become a habit to seek Him first, and to trust that He will listen and move in mighty ways.

I continue to feel blessed by all of your prayers, and humbly thank you for your requests on my behalf. As we are now halfway through our time here,  I ask you to lift up the work that is going on here at the St. Luke Hospital. With very little, they do a lot! God has made Himself present through the staff and facilities to offer the care this community needs. I am so grateful to be a small part of it!

With love in Him, 

Sarah

A few of our friends from the clinic
Leave a Reply

