I’m coming

“I’m coming”

We got used to hearing this phrase in Ghana, meaning something to the effect of “I’ll be with you soon.” I was anticipating coming home to the U.S. But as I left Ghana, I also began to think of the new meaning I had learned to believe and hope that God will bring me back someday.

Africa has changed my heart in more ways than one. I have learned to be patient, persevere, and ALWAYS put my hope in the Lord.

Throughout my time in Ghana, I wrestled with discovering my purpose of being there. While I did learn A LOT while working in the clinic, I don’t believe that was the main reason God lead me there. One of the greatest joys I experienced each day was witnessing my co-workers live out their faith through their life, especially through their work as healthcare providers.

Watching this unfold reminded me of an idea I was introduced in a book I read for one of my classes at Northwestern:

“Living out the gospel in the midst of the public square is not first of all a matter of strategy and planning; rather, it is manifesting the very life of Christ in the midst of the world” -Michael Goheen, Introducing Christian Mission Today, pg.259.

This quote has stuck with me, and even more so this summer. We have become part of a culture that begs us to completely separate our work and our faith. Watching these amazing individuals live out their faith on a day to day basis as they worked with many different types of patients was inspiring. I found this to be my biggest take away from the summer, and I hope and pray I am able to do the same someday in my own career.

I have truly been humbled through this experience, and I have especially loved getting to work with the Luke Society. Part of their mission is “[to] empower and encourage citizens in their own countries, which promotes human dignity, local skills and sustainable infrastructure.” I have witnessed the benefits and sheer beauty in this small community that has stemmed from the efforts of the Luke Society. They have a sense of pride and ownership as they care for their neighbors through the skills God has blessed them with. I loved learning with these people and witnessing their hearts for the Lord.

This trip was not one of evangelism or service projects, but an important cross-cultural learning experience that I believe God was, and will continue to work through–some ways I’m sure I won’t even know. I cannot express how grateful I am for each one of your prayers and gifts that have made this adventure possible. I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

God Bless You!

Love, Sarah

20170607_183016.jpg
A selfie with Dr. John!
Leave a Reply

